Political Parties Registrar Issues Directive to Party-Hopping MPs

  • The Registrar of Political Parties, Anne Nderitu, on Wednesday, January 2, issued a new directive to politicians seeking to move from one party to another.

    Nderitu directed the politicians, led by Members of Parliament, to ensure that they move to the political parties of their choice before March 26.

    She further dispelled fears harbored by lawmakers that they would lose their seats once they change political parties, stating that the law does not allow by-election three months to a General Election. 

    Registrar of Political Parties Anne Nderitu

    Registrar of Political Parties Anne Nderitu


    “It’s safe to say that before that date of 26th March, then anybody that wants to participate on the ticket of that particular party must have joined. The law also says clearly that three months before a General Election, no by-elections can be held,” stated Nderitu as quoted by Citizen TV.

    According to the Article 103 of the Constitution of Kenya (2010), any member recommends for the vacation from office of an MP should he or she resign from a party or, for those who were elected as independent candidates, join a political party.

    “The office of a Member of Parliament becomes vacant if having being elected to Parliament as a member of a political party, the member resigns from that party or is deemed to have resigned from the party,” reads Section 1 (1) of the article.

    Nderitu’s announcement comes as a blessing at a time when members of the August House are seeking to join other political parties in preparation for the August 9 polls.

    Already, lawmakers have started abandoning their current political parties with the ruling Jubilee party registering the highest number of exits.

    Majority of the Jubilee Party MPs have abandoned President Uhuru Kenyatta and joined the United Democratic Alliance (UDA), a party linked to Deputy President William Ruto.

    As part of instilling discipline in the party, Jubilee cracked the whip on the errant MPs, discharging them from their various House Committees.

    On January 2, Jubilee discharged Laikipia Woman Representative Cate Waruguru from the Departmental Committee on Livestock, William Kipkemoi, from Departmental Committee on Information and Katoo ole Metito from Departmental Committee on Defence.

    Others discharged were Japheth Kareke Mbiuki, discharged from Departmental Committee on Environment and Natural Resources, David Gikaria, discharged from Departmental Committee on Energy, and Ali Wario, who has been discharged from the Select Committee on Regional Integration.

    Lawmakers seated in Parliament

    Lawmakers seated in Parliament.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :