EAC Formally Admits DRC to the Region

The East African Community (EAC) Heads of State have admitted the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) into the regional bloc becoming the seventh and newest member of the community after South Sudan.

While addressing the EAC Heads of State, President Uhuru Kenyatta, who is the chairperson of the Summit, said the admission of the DRC into the bloc would enable the Community to achieve the much-needed development based on the economies of scale.

“Today, the 29th, is a historic day in the history of the EAC as we admit the DRC into the EAC. We have already considered and agreed, in our closed session, and the Summit has taken the decision to admit the DRC into the EAC. The admission of the DRC into EAC is historic, not only for our countries but our continent at large.” President Uhuru Kenyatta.

According to the EAC Secretary General, Peter Mathuki, the country’s admission comes with increased GDP and expanded market size making EAC a home to about 300 million people, which is mutually beneficial to the people of both EAC and DR Congo by providing employment and investment opportunities that come along with this new development.

“The EAC now spans from the Indian Ocean to the Atlantic Ocean making the region competitive and easy to access the larger African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA).” Peter Mathuki.

With lower tariffs on goods and the removal of trading restrictions among partner states, he added, we anticipate that goods and services will move more freely.

DRC’s admission was approved at the 19th Extraordinary Summit of EAC Heads of State conducted virtually.

The proposal to admit DRC was presented by the EAC Council of Ministers which held the 48th Extraordinary Council meeting on Friday to put the final touches on the admission plan.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :