AfCFTA Still in the Shadows as 6 Countries Yet to Ratify the Agreement

Six countries drawn from three regional economic blocs are yet to ratify the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA), delaying its implementation more than a year after it was formally launched in January 2021.

In the East African Community (EAC), South Sudan is yet to ratify the AfCFTA and in Southern African Customs Union (SACU), Botswana is yet to ratify and deposit its instrument of ratification.

A second coordination meeting of the Heads of Regional Economic Communities held in Arusha on June 7 also revealed that Benin, Guinea Bissau and Liberia, members of the Economic Community of West African States (Ecowas), are yet to become State Parties.

Eritrea is yet to become a member of the AfCFTA making it difficult to discuss Customs and trade offers within the continent.

Wamkele Mene, Secretary-General of the AfCFTA says trade was yet to commence save for a number of factors, including failure by all African countries to ratify the agreement, yet to be submitted of tariff offers, Rules of Origin, and trading documents.

See Also:

AfDB to Invest $7 Billion in Trade within the AfCFTA

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :