Ruto Witnesses Swearing-In of High Court Judges

  • President William Ruto, on Wednesday, December 7, presided over the swearing-in of 20 judges of the High Court at State House, Nairobi.

    The event that kicked off at 7 am saw High Court Judges take the oath of office, promising to dispense justice without fear or favour.

    Ruto appointed the judges on Tuesday, December 6, via a gazette notice after the Judicial Service Commission forwarded the names to him for the appointment.

    According to JSC, the nominees were picked based on merit, gender, regional balance and affirmative action.

    Ex-Chief Justice David Maraga during the the swearing in of judges aat State House Nairobi on Wednesday, September 14,2022. ersation outside the Supreme Court.

    Former Chief Justice David Maraga (far right) poses for a photo with President William Ruto, DP Rigathi Gachagua, Chief Justice Martha Koome and Deputy CJ Philomena Mwilu during the swearing-in of six judges at State House Nairobi on Wednesday, September 14, 2022.

    CJ Martha Koome

    “The commission wishes to thank all the candidates and stakeholders for their participation in the recruitment and selection process,” Chief Justice Martha Koome lauded the appointments. 

    The judges were sworn-in at State House included Diana Mochache, Heston Nyaga, John Chigiti, Peter Mulwa, Lawrence Mugambi, Gregory Mutai, Robert Wananda, Samwel Mukira, Francis Ochieng, Fred Mugambi and Dennis Magare.

    Others were Patricia Gichohi, Josephine Mongare, Patricia Nyaundi, Diana Kavedza, Sophie Chirchir, Mwaisha Said, Florence Macharia, Teresa Achieng and Aleem Visram in the same capacity.

    This marked President Ruto’s second event in which he presided over the swearing-in of judges.

    The first event occurred on September 14, 2022, two days after taking the oath of office as President of the Republic of Kenya.

    Ruto had promised Kenyans that he would preside over the swear-in of six judges rejected by former President Uhuru Kenyatta.

    Uhuru rejected the six Court of Appeal judges citing integrity issues gathered by the investigative agencies. 

    The six Court of Appeal judges were among 40 others nominated after a rigorous vetting exercise by the JSC between July and August 2019.

    Judges Swearing-in

    President William Ruto (centre) with a group of Judicial officers after swearing-in of Judges at State House on September 14, 2022.

    Twitter/William Ruto

Jay Ndungu

Jay is a computer scientist and journalist with a passion for the intersection of technology and society. He has a background in computer science, developing a deep understanding of the technical aspects of the industry, including programming languages and software development methodologies. Currently, He writes for Nairobi Times, covering a wide range of topics including technology, politics, sports, and entertainment. With his unique combination of technical knowledge and journalistic experience, Jay brings a unique perspective to the stories he covers, able to explain complex technical concepts in an easy-to-understand manner. His work is dedicated to bridge the gap between technology and society, and to make people more aware of the potential of technology to make the world a better place.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com