Warning: Undefined array key "HTTP_REFERER" in /home/eudacomp/nairobitimes.co.ke/wp-content/themes/jannah/jannah.template#template on line 43

Waiguru Opposes Move to Monitor Billions in County Govt Accounts

  • Council of governors chairperson, Anne Waiguru, on Friday, December 9, threatened to file a case against the Office of the Controller of Budget (OCOB) Margaret Nyakango on her demands to access county accounts.

    Governors accused Nyakango of overstepping her mandate terming the move unconstitutional and unacceptable. 

    The governors stated that such a decision would circumvent the agreements between the counties and the Treasury. 

    “Extending such access to the OCOB is tantamount to overstepping and encroaching on the functions and mandate of the Office of the Auditor General.

    Controller of Budget Margaret Nyakango.

    Controller of Budget Margaret Nyakango.

    Daily Nation

    “The outcome of such a system would be an introduction of unwarranted bureaucracies in financial expenditure for counties,” Waiguru lamented.

    OCOB has been pushing to access the accounts. Their offer was originally turned down, with Nyakango lamenting that it hampered efforts to track expenditures. 

    County governments were at loggerheads with the budget office, with the devolved units being accused of manipulating payment requests approved by the CoB and failing to pay suppliers and contractors.

    On Monday, December 5, the council called upon the National Treasury to expedite the disbursement of the monies owed to the 47 devolved units to ensure that service delivery is achieved.

    They argued that the 47 County Governments were owed Ksh29.6 billion for October 2022 and Ksh31.45 billion for November 2022 allocations.

    CoG also proposed a 15 per cent increase of the projected revenue growth in the FY 2023/24 and allocate a minimum of Ksh425 billion to counties.

    The Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA) had recommended Ksh407 billion in the FY 2023/24, which is a 10% increase from the current Ksh370 billion on the Vertical Sharing of Revenue.

    CRA is expected to review the decision after new members assume office. 

    On Thursday, December 8, MPs approved the nomination of Fatuma Gedi, Benedict Muasya Mutiso, Jonas Vincent Kuko, Isabel Nyambura Waiyaki and Hadija Nganyi as CRA members. Others were George Midiwo and Wilfred Koitamet. 

    Kirinyaga governor and Chairperson of the Council of Governors Anne Waiguru at the two-day retreat held in Naivasha on Thursday October 13 2022

    Kirinyaga governor and Chairperson of the Council of Governors Anne Waiguru at the two-day retreat held in Naivasha on Thursday, October 13, 2022


    Anne Waiguru

Jay Ndungu

Jay is a computer scientist and journalist with a passion for the intersection of technology and society. He has a background in computer science, developing a deep understanding of the technical aspects of the industry, including programming languages and software development methodologies. Currently, He writes for Nairobi Times, covering a wide range of topics including technology, politics, sports, and entertainment. With his unique combination of technical knowledge and journalistic experience, Jay brings a unique perspective to the stories he covers, able to explain complex technical concepts in an easy-to-understand manner. His work is dedicated to bridge the gap between technology and society, and to make people more aware of the potential of technology to make the world a better place.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com