Ruto Awards Chebukati One Month Before IEBC Exit

  • President William Ruto extended his recognition to Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati and two commissioners, Boya Molu and Abdi Guliye, by conferring them with Presidential awards on Monday, December 12.

    After the Jamhuri Day celebrations, Ruto honoured Chebukati with the Elder of the Golden Heart (EGH) in a list of 13 individuals in the category. 

    Other IEBC commissioners, Guliye and Molu, were awarded the Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (EBS) in the second class category with 35 other Kenyans. 

    “In recognition of distinguished and outstanding services rendered to the nation in various capacities and responsibilities, I, William Samoei Ruto, President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces, confer Awards and Honours to the following persons,” the special gazette notice dated Monday, December 12 read in part.

    Prof. Abdi Guliye

    IEBC Commissioner Prof Abdi Guliye at Bomas of Kenya On August 8,2022.


    Chebukati, Molu and Guliye were feted ahead of their term exit at the end of January 2023.

    The beleaguered three IEBC officials are expected to exit officers following the expiry of their six-years term, setting the stage for the appointment of other commissioners.

    Ruto also honoured IEBC Chief Executive Officer Marjan Hussein with Third Class Moran of the Order of the Burning Spear (MBS).

    However, Ruto did not recognise four IEBC commissioners who disputed the August 9 Presidential results. Irene Masit, who still holds office, and Juliana Cherera, Justus Nyangaya and Francis Wanderi, who resigned, were edged out of the list.

    The four are set to be investigated independently following the formation of a tribunal led by Justice Aggrey Muchelule.

    Muchelule, while issuing directives on the case, noted, “The first witness will testify against the suspended commissioners on December 20, 2022, at 9 am.” 

    Chebukati also confirmed that he will testify against the accused ex-commissioners and his colleague, Masit. 

    Ruto also recognised a few legislators from Azimio la Umoja. Among them was the leader of the minority, Opiyo Wandayi, who was awarded the Third Class: Moran of the Order of the Golden Heart (MGH).

    Kitui governor, Julius Malombe, received the Second Class: Elder of the Order of the Golden Heart (EGH). 

    The head of state also awarded Uasin Gishu woman representative, Gladys Boss Shollei, with Moran of the Order of the Golden Heart (MGH). 

    Shollei was recognised for her role during the August 9 polls, especially at the national tallying centre at Bomas of Kenya, where she protected Ruto’s votes.

    IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati addressing the press at the IEBC headquarters at Anniversary Towers on Monday, September 5, 2022..jpg

    IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati addressing the press at the IEBC headquarters at Anniversary Towers on Monday, September 5, 2022.


Jay Ndungu

Jay is a computer scientist and journalist with a passion for the intersection of technology and society. He has a background in computer science, developing a deep understanding of the technical aspects of the industry, including programming languages and software development methodologies. Currently, He writes for Nairobi Times, covering a wide range of topics including technology, politics, sports, and entertainment. With his unique combination of technical knowledge and journalistic experience, Jay brings a unique perspective to the stories he covers, able to explain complex technical concepts in an easy-to-understand manner. His work is dedicated to bridge the gap between technology and society, and to make people more aware of the potential of technology to make the world a better place.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com